Methodology and list of judges

Almost 90 industry figures came together to judge the Broadcast Awards 2018 at The Hospital Club in Covent Garden.

The judges were split into groups and presented with longlists in each category, which they whittled down to a shortlist of six.

After debating the merits of each contender, a secret ballot took place to determine the winner. The judges were looking for shows that demonstrated originality, insight and great story telling. They were not disappointed. Thanks to all who took part.

Koulla Anastasi A+E Networks
Simon Andreae Naked Entertainment
Sarah Asante BBC
Chris Aylott Channel 5
Ben Barker Monterosa
Mike Beale ITV Studios
Grant Best Only The Best Productions
Clare Birks Oxford Scientific Films
Richard Bond Dragonfly
Penny Brough Viacom
Josh Buckingham Channel 4
Tim Carter Shiver
Naomi Carter Tinopolis Factual
Robert Charles Broadcast sports consultant
Donna Clark DSP
Martin Clarke Sound recordist
Alan Clements STV
Andy Culpin 12 Yard Productions
Melanie Darlaston Motion Content Group
Moz Dee Contented Digital Media Group
Ana DeMoraes Shiver
Robi Dutta BBC
Toby Earle Journalist
Angela Ferreira A Joy Media
Ben Gale Little Gem Media
Tom Giles ITV
Max Gogarty BBC
Nicki Gottlieb Brown Bob Productions
Martin Haines Kudos 
Anna Hargreaves Sky
Cassian Harrison BBC
Kate Harwood Euston Films
Alan Hayling Renegade Pictures
Bill Hobbins Sky
Jamie Isaacs Avalon Television
Jen Kenwood Drama Republic
Tim Key Red Planet Pictures
Ian Lamarra Producer
Steve Lawes Cinematographer
Jago Lee Antenna Pictures
Matt Leys Writer/script editor
Duncan Lindsay Metro
Jake Lushington World Productions
Danielle Lux CPL Productions
Billy Macqueen Darrell Macqueen
Katy Manley Initial
Debbie Manners Field Day Productions
Nigel Marchant Carnival
Lee Mason Channel 4
Preethi Mavahalli Mammoth Screen
Nick Mirsky Channel 4
Beren Money Channel 5
Siobhan Mulholland Sky
Steven Murphy Inside Soap
Rick Murray Endemol Shine North
Helen Nightingale UKTV
Ruby Norris Heat
Steve North UKTV
Liz Pearson Post-production supervisor
Tom Porter Channel 4
Rob Pursey Mighty Atom TV
James Quinn Producer
Tanya Qureshi Channel 4
Steve Regan Channel 5
Charlotte Reid DNI
Mark Roberts Firecrest Films
Sarah Sapper Blink Films
David Sayer Channel 4
Ed Sayer DNI
Saskia Schuster ITV
Emma Scott Beano
Paul Simper The Sun
Chris Sussman BBC
Pete Thornton UKTV
Alan Tyler BBC
Yonni Usiskin Vice
Helen Veale Outline
Tom Ware Yeti Media
Karl Warner Electric Ray
Richard Webster Sky
Donna Wiffen Duchess Street Productions
Jes Wilkins Firecracker Films
Amanda Wilson Sharp Jack
Josh Wilson Wilson Worldwide
Steve Wynne Strawberry Blond
Patrick Younge Sugar Films
Jan Younghusband BBC
Asif Zubairy ITV