The BBC bagged 10 awards at the RTS Television Journalism Awards last night.
The BBC bagged 10 awards at the RTS Television Journalism Awards last night.

The broadcaster took four prizes for its current affairs stalwart series, Panorama, including one for John Ware's investigation into the BBC's behaviour over the Andrew Gilligan affair and subsequent Hutton inquiry.

Panoramashared the news event award with The Ten O'Clock Newsfor Hilary Andersson's reporting on the Darfur crisis in Sudan while Panorama's Fred Scott, was named camera operator of the year. The prize for best specialist journalism went to Panorama's Sarah Barclay.

BBC1's Ten O'Clock Newsscooped news programme of the year while Alex Millar won the prize for young journalist of the year, for his work on BBC3 current affairs documentaries such as Fergie and Son.

October Film's BBC2 show Access to Evil, which revealed how North Korea is using humans in chemical and biological weapons experiments, clinched the international current affairs category.

A popular winner was Salam Pax, the former Guardiancolumnist whose weblog gave an uninhibited account of the slide into the Iraq war and the aftermath. Pax won the RTS award for 'Innovation' for the programmes he made with Guardian Films and BBC2's Newsnight.

ITV News won the international news award for its 10.30pm bulletin on the Beslan siege and Alastair Stewart also beat off Channel 4's Jon Snow and Sky News' Julie Etchingham, to news presenter of the year.

ITV News presenter Sir Trevor McDonald was the winner of the Judges' Award, in recognition of his 43-year long career.

TV journalist of the year was awarded to Channel 4's Lindsey Hilsum.

Sky News picked up the News Channel of the Year award for the fourth successive year.

For a full list of winners visit