Methodology and list of judges

Almost 100 industry figures came together to judge the Broadcast Awards 2019 at The Hospital Club in Covent Garden.

The judges were split into groups and presented with longlists in each category, which they whittled down to a shortlist of six.

After debating the merits of each conten der, a secret ballot took place to determine the winner. The judges were looking for shows that demonstrated originality, insight and great storytelling. They were not disappointed. Thanks to all who took part.

Rachel Ablett Zeppotron
Lara Akeju ITV
Tania Alexander Studio Lambert
Foz Allan Bryncoed Productions
Jim Allen RDF Televison
Marc Allen True North
May Anderson Objective Fiction
Simon Andreae Naked
Lydia Arding Avalon Factual
Victoria Ashbourne Hello Dolly
Ceri Aston Shiver North
Tom Barry Raw
Chris Brogden Executive producer
Katie Buchanan Sundog Pictures
Lorraine Charker-Phillips Label1
David Chikwe Three Tables
Andrew Cohen BBC
Josh Cole Sky
Philippa Collie Cousins UKTV
Kate Collier Minnow Films
Iain Coyle UKTV
Simon Crawford-Collins Slim Film + Television
Jason Crosby Netflix
Tess Cuming Nimble Dragon
Hannah Demidowicz TCB Media Rights
Faye Dorn Big Talk
Toby Earle Journalist/broadcaster
Marion Edwards Children’s media consultant
Richard Fee Red Production Company
Angela Ferreira Douglas Road Productions
Adam Gee Little Dot Studios
Nicki Gottlieb Brown Bob Productions
Neil Grant Creative director
Richard Halton YouView
Vicky Hamburger Primal Media
David Henshaw Hardcash Productions
Angela Jain ITV Studios Entertainment
Sara Johnson Fox Networks Group
Jen Kenwood Drama Republic
Tim Key Red Planet Pictures
Nicole Kleeman Firecrest Films
Simon Knight Maverick Television
Ian Lamarra Alaska TV
Charles Lauder Indie Club
Sarah Lazenby Channel 4
Jago Lee Antenna Pictures
Duncan Lindsay Metro
Nicola Lloyd ITV
Danielle Lux CPL Productions
Catherine Mackin Acorn Media Enterprises
Krish Majumdar Me + You Productions
Nigel Marchant Carnival Film & Televison
Fiona McDermott Channel 4
Joe McVey UKTV
Nick Metcalfe Arrow Media
Alex Moody BBC
Elaine Morris ITN Productions
Clare Mottershead BBC
Jon Mountague Sky
Steven Murphy Inside Soap Magazine
Lucy Murphy Sky
Pasa Mustafa Gunpowder & Sky
Jez Nelson Somethin’ Else
Ben Nemes Consultant
Victoria Noble Discovery
Ruby Norris Chelsea Magazine Company
Claire Nosworthy Hare and Tortoise
Kate O’Hara Duck Soup Films
David O’Carroll Aurora Media Worldwide
Catherine Oldfield Tall Story Pictures
Craig Orr MTV International
Faraz Osman Gold Wala
Rich Payne Little Dot Studios
Liz Pearson Post-production supervisor
Cecilia Persson Turner Broadcasting
Sharon Powers Potato
Mark Roberts Firecrest Films
Hilary Rosen UKTV
Sarah Sapper Cornelia Street Productions
Ed Sayer Executive producer
Kathy Schulz Media consultant
Iain Scollay Firecrest Films
Simon Shalgosky Lion Television
Paul Simper The Sun
Hilary Strong The Anthology Group
Louise Sutton Lime Pictures
Ed Taylor Elephant House Studios
Richard Thomson Wall to Wall Media
Jen Topping Media consultant
Cal Turner Boundless Productions
Alan Tyler Executive producer
Helen Veale Outline Productions
Ann Walsh Reef Television
Kelly Webb-Lamb Channel 4
Joanna Wells Viacom International
Lucy Willis Channel 5
Amanda Wilson Sharp Jack
Tom Young Somethin’ Else
Patrick Younge Sugar Films