The winners of this year’s Sheffield Doc/Fest have been revealed while a new award will be introduced in 2013 named after late photojournalist Tim Hetherington.

The 20th edition of the documentary festival next year will see the introduction of the first Tim Hetherington Award.

Presented by documentary distributor Dogwoof, the winner will be awarded a cash prize and will be decided by a jury including Hetherington’s mother, Judith.

Hetherington was a photojournalist who was killed by a mortar attack in Misrata, Libya while covering the conflict.

This year’s seven awards were announced yesterday (17 June) with British documentary filmmaker Penny Woolcock handed the Inspiration Award.

Doc/Fest chairman Alex Graham said Woolcock “combines a real empathy for her subjects, and never underestimates the intelligence of the audience”.

Full list of winners…

Inspiration Award

  • Penny Woolcock

Special Jury Award

  • Marina Abromović: The Artist is Present
    (Matthew Akers/ USA)

Special Mentions
Call Me Kuchu
(Dir. Malika Zouhali-Worrall, Katherine Fairfax-Wright/ USA)

The Reluctant Revolutionary
(Dir. Sean McAllister/ UK)

Other nominees

  • Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry (Dir. Alison Klayman/ China)
  • Chopin Saved My Life (Dir. James Kent/ UK)
  • Going Up the Stairs (Dir. Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami/ Iran)
  • Off Label (Dir. Michael Palmieri, Donal Mosher, USA)
  • Not A Carwash (Dir. Gentian Koçi/ Albania)
  • The Other Dream Team (Dir. Marius Markevicius/ USA, Lithuania)

Sheffield Youth Jury Award

  • Photographic Memory
    (Dir. Ross McElwee/ USA, France)

Special Mention
Indie Game: The Movie
(Dir. Lisanne Pajot, James Swirsky/ Canada)

Other nominees

  • Love Free or Die (Dir. Macky Alston/ USA)
  • Town of Runners (Dir. Jerry Rothwell/ UK, Nairob)
  • We Are Legion: The Story of the Hacktivists (Dir. Brian Knapperberger/ USA)

Sheffield Innovation Award

  • Bear 71
    (Dir. Leanne Allison, Jeremy Mendes/ Canada)

Special Mention
Question Bridge: Black Males (USA)

Other nominees

  • Britain In A Day (Dir. Morgan Matthews/ UK)
  • The Miners’ Hymns (Dir. Bill Morrison, UK)
  • Question Bridge: Black Males (USA)
  • ¡Vivan Las Antipodas! (Dir. Victor Kossakovsky/ Germany. Netherlands, Argentina, Chile)

Sheffield Green Award

  • Law of The Jungle
    (Dir. Michael Christoffersen, Hans la Cour/ Denmark)

Special mention
The Island President
(Dir. Jon Shenk/ USA)

Other nominees

  • Aluna (Dir. Alan Ereira/ UK)
  • Baka: A Cry from the Rainforest (Dir. Philip Agland/ UK)
  • Chasing Ice (Dir. Jeff Orlowski/ USA)
  • A Fierce Green Fire (Dir. Mark Kitchell/ USA)

Student Doc Award

  • The Betrayal
    (Dir. Karen Winther/ UK, Norway)

Other nominees

  • Burmese Butterfly (Dir. Hnin Ei Hlaing/ Myanmar, Germany)
  • Fabalous (Dir. Ed Emsley/ UK)
  • No Regrets (Dir. Jim Smith/ UK, 2012)
  • Mostar (Dir. Josh Bamford, Sebastian Feehan/ UK)
  • A Place We Call Home (Dir. Albina Griniute/ Lithuania, Estonia)
  • This Life that Chose Me (Dir. Chloe White/ UK)
  • The War Next Door (Dir. Ferdinand Haberl/ UK)

EDA Best Female-Director

  • Up The Stairs
    (Dir. Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami/ Iran)

Other nominees

  • Call Me Kuchu (Dir. Malika Zouhali-Worrall, Katherine Fairfax-Wright/ USA)
  • Indie Game: The Movie (Dir. Lisanne Pajot, James Swirsky/ Canada)
  • Putin’s Kiss (Dir. Lise Birk Pedersen / Denmark)
  • Scarlet Road (Dir. Catherine Scott / Australia)
  • The Tsunami and The Cherry Blossom (Lucy Walker / US)