Over 40 broadcasters aired the opening race in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia

Formula E broadcast its opening weekend to over 150 countries, with more than 40 broadcasters showing the racing.

In its first season as an FIA sanctioned event, the competition has expanded its broadcast partnerships so that it is in more than 30 languages around the world, with over 60 hours of live, and 40 hours of non-live programming per season.

In the UK< BBC Red Button, iPlayer, and BBC Sport broadcast races live free-to-air, with selected races also being shown on BBC linear channels schedules permitting.


Other notable partnerships include CBS in the US, which will broadcast two races on free-to-air channels, with at least a further six E-Prix broadcast on the CBS Sports Network.

Meanwhile, Discovery will broadcast live and on-demand coverage through Eurosport in more than 50 markets, available via its linear and digital channels as well as being introduced on discovery+.


The opening race in Diriyah was Formula E’s first night race, which used high performance, sustainable and fully renewable LED lighting technologies to ignite the track. Mercedes-EQ’s Nyck de Vries won the Saturday race, with Jaguar Racing’s Sam Bird picking up the victory on the Sunday.


Formula E broadcast deals

Europe: BBC (UK), Discovery/Eurosport (50 markets), Sky Italia and Mediaset (Italy), L’Equipe (France), SAT.1 (Germany)

Africa: SuperSport (50 territories)

North America: CBS (US)

South America: Claro (Latin America), Globo (Brazil)

Asia: Star Sports (India), Disney+ Hotstar (India), J Sports and BS Fuji (Japan), Sina Sports, Weibo, HUPU, HUYA, Tencent Sports, Youku, and KuaiShou (China)

Images: Sam Bagnall / Any Hone / Sam Bloxham / Zak Mauger / LAT Images