Sally Wainwright, Fozia Khan and Sarah Gavron sign up to WFTV scheme

Sally Wainwright, Fozia Khan and Sarah Gavron are on board a Women in Film and TV (WFTV) mentoring scheme to help women at the mid-stage of their careers.

The scheme, which is also supported by BBC popular factual boss Catherine Catton, Milk and Honey Productions’ Lucy Pilkington and Wonderhood Studios’ David Abraham as mentors, will help 41 women across six months later this year.

It was already running in England and Northern Ireland and has been rolled out to Scotland and Wales.

Each mentee will be given six hours with their chosen mentor, alongside peer-to-peer training, seminars and networking opportunities.

The scheme in England is in association with ScreenSkills and supported by the BBC, UKTV and Channel 4, while Netflix is supporting the Scottish, Welsh and Northern Irish schemes.

Channel 4 Indie Growth Fund creative mentor Tracy Forsyth is heading the scheme in England.

“The mentees are already an inspirational group and with the scheme’s help we will empower their careers and lives to even greater heights and impact,” said Forsyth.

Karen Kelly, Hannah Corneck and Sarah McCaffrey will run the English, Welsh and Northern Irish schemes respectively.

England Mentoring Scheme in Association with ScreenSkills:


Alexandra Finlay

Sarah Doole

Amy Thomas

Laura Livingstone

Caroline Percy

Peter Fincham

Gemma Brady

David Abraham

Gina Lyons

Sarah Fraser

Janet Awe

Clelia Mountford

Jemma Cox

David Glover

Jessie Craig Roche

Christine Alderson

Jude Ho

Lucy Pilkington

Kerriane Taylor

Joff Powell

Lauren Abery

Catherine Catton

Lily Grimes

Cinders Forshaw

Meriel Beale

Jonathan Stadlen

Mhari Macritchie

Nina Hartstone

Miranda Walker

Fiona McDermott

Nazneen Momen

Ana de Moraes

Poonam Brah

Jayne Villiers

Sarah Keeling

Lucinda Axelson

Suki Chan

Jess Bendien

Zoe Dobson

Philippa Lowthorpe


Northern Ireland Mentoring Scheme:


Caoimhe Ní Chathail

Ellie Flynn

Caroline Ball

Lisa Barros D’Sa

Emma O’Loughlin

Jany Temime

Erin O’Rawe

Seamus McGarvey

Heather Brown

Declan Lawn

Laura Robinson

Lynsey O’Callaghan

Muireann McGinty

Melanie Morris


Scotland Mentoring Scheme

Name Mentor

Allanah Langstaff

Charlotte jones

Eunice Olumide

Nasfim Haque

Jillian Mannion

Sally Wainwright

Julia Moon

Sophie robinson

Robin Haig

Douglas MacKinnon / Mairzee Almas

Sidra Khan

Fozia Khan

Tasneem Maqsood

Andrea Calderwood


Wales Mentoring Scheme

Name Mentor

Ana Garrido

Julie Gardner and Sarah Gavron

Catrin Rowlands

Scarlett Ewens and Edwina Silver

Charlotte Greaves

Olly Jelley

Hannah Williams

Kahleen Crawford

Lowri Malinowski

Steve Smith

Noomi Yates

Rose Glass

Sioned Geraint

Cate Hall