Female directors dominate the shortlist for this year's best young director category at the B+ Young
Female directors dominate the shortlist for this year's best young director category at the B+ Young Talent Awards.Four of the six people up for the prestigious award are women - a significant rise on last year when only one female director was shortlisted. Women are also well represented in other categories - including three nominations for best young graphic designer and two more for best young editor.The awards are produced in association with BBC Resources and the winners will be announced at the B+ Young Talent Awards winners party at Po Na Na in Hammersmith on 21 May during The Production Show 2003. For more details, see broadcastnow.co.uk/plusawards.The B+ Young Talent Awards shortlist is made up of the following: best young animator: James Kerr, Dan Lane, Jessica Lee, Ben Smith and Steve Smith.Best young audio engineer: Richard Birtwistle, Kate Davis, Hannah Fairclough, Guus Hoeevenaars, Nigel Squibbs, Marc Lawes and Thomas O'Pray.Best young camera/lighting person: Andrew Fleming, Richard Graveling, Stephanie Hardt, Alex Ryle and Benedict Spence.Best young director: Miranda Bowen, Vicki Kisner, Jennifer Perrett, Phil Traill, Sarah Walker and Joel Wilson.Best young editor: Stephen Ackroyd, Tracy Ashcroft, Orly Danon, Samantha Holgate, Leo King and Simon Myers.Best young graphic designer: Najma Bhatti, Adam Kramer, Emma Lidgey, Dawn Prance and Serge Seidlitz.Best young interactive designer: Kathryn Davey, Lewis Fleming, Gabrielle Motola, Gemma Petch, Damien Roy and Anne Stagg.Best young online editor: Jason Denning, Ben Hanley, David Moyes, Tom Muschamp and Michael Skrgatic.Best young visual effects artist: Warwick Campbell, David Corfield, Tom Harding, Clare Robinson, Michael Skrgatic and Anthony Smith.Best young writer: Nathan Cockerill, Chris Dodds, Jonathan Newman, Nic Shearer and Sarah Walker.A special award will also be presented to the company that has done the most to develop young people in TV and film.