The Guild of Television Cameramen has announced the shortlist for its 2013 Awards.

The voting panel will be chaired by former BBC producer and director and current head of the television faculty at The National Film and Television School David G. Croft.

The awards will be made at a ceremony on Saturday 11 May.

“We are really keen to recognise excellent camera work through all genres,” said GTC chair Keith Massey.

“We have nominations for camerawork across a very wide range of categories, ranging from regional productions to large-scale networked events like the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games.”

The shortlist:

  • Graham Maunder for Ewan McGregor – Cold Chain Mission (BBC2)
  • Camera crew for Jools Annual Hootenanny (BBC2)
  • Christian and Paola Moullec for Earthflight (BBC1)
  • Ben Cryer for Look North: Army Passing Out Parade (BBC1 and BBC Yorkshire)
  • Dave Minchin for Great Continental Railway Journeys (BBC2)
  • Nat Hill for Coldplay MX World (BBC1)
  • Bruce Miller and crew for Queen’s Jubilee Service (BBC)
  • David Higgs and Christopher Blauvelt for Restless (BBC1)
  • Anthony Dalton, Sam Montague, Ric Clark, Simon Cox, Richard Maxwell, Arun Taylor and Micah Walker for Great British Bake Off (BBC2)
  • Marcus Elliot for Heroes of the Skies – Wingwalker (Five)
  • Alan Almond, Sam McCurdy, Barney Batchelor Jessica Oxley Brian Bassnett for Last Tango in Halifax (BBC1)
  • Fred Scott for Atma Refuge Camp, Syria (BBC News)
  • Mona Eldaief and Jehane Noujaim for Solar Mamas (BBC4)
  • Camera crew for Later with Jools Holland (BBC1)
  • Geraint Warrington for Daybreak: Ben Affleck interview (ITV)
  • Tony Etwell for Grand Designs: The Water Tower (Channel 4)
  • Graham McFarlane for Deadly 60 - Venezuela (CBBC)
  • Camera crew for Songs of Praise, Britain’s Biggest Hymns Big Sing (BBC1)
  • Nigel Meakin and Peter Meakin for Michael Palin in Brazil (BBC2)
  • Camera crew for The Opening Ceremony of the 2012 Olympic Games: Isles of Wonder (BBC1)
  • Fabian Wagner for Mrs Biggs (ITV1)
  • Simon Richards for The Paradise (BBC1)
  • Paul Kirsop for Hunted (BBC1)
  • Jonathan Young for Extreme World –Karachi (BBC1)
  • Jonathan Young for Indian Ocean with Simon Reeve (BBC2)
  • Marcel Zyskind for Weightwatchers Commercial (Channel 4)

The GTC 2013 Seal of Approval for innovative technology: Sony’s HDVF-EL75 OLED studio colour viewfinder (additional nominations are expected).

Mike Baldock Award: Holly Bantleman for the Raise the Roof in Kenya project (additional nominations are expected).