100 indie bosses now on board with anti-privatisation message


More than 100 indie bosses have already added their weight to Broadcast’s Not 4 Sale campaign to block the proposed privatisation of Channel 4. 

High-profile signatories to have joined the campaign, which launched on Thursday 8 July, include Sharon Horgan (Merman),  David Olusoga (Uplands Television), Jimmy Mulville (Hat Trick), Richard McKerrow (Love Productions) and Leanne Klein (Wall to Wall / Twenty Twenty).   

They appear in the list below alongside a range of Broadcast Indie Survey top 100 companies, with support coming from across an array of super-indie groups and true indies, from London and the nations and regions labels, and from labels working in a broad range of genres. 

Indies to have signed up include Dragonfly, Daisybeck Studios, Hungry Bear, Initial, Lambent Productions, Raw TV, Rumpus Media and Strawberry Blond.

On Friday, former Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson came out against privatisation and warned that a sale threatens the future of production companies. 

If you would like to join the campaign, read the statement of support below and email not4sale@broadcastnow.co.uk indicating whether you are joining in a personal capacity or signing up your business 

Not 4 Sale: the pledge 

Channel 4’s publisher-broadcaster model and unique PSB remit has been integral to the success of the British television industry. Privatising it would be detrimental to audiences and the sector and risks undermining the £1 billion that C4 generates for the UK economy.  

Not 4 Sale: signatories 

Jonathan Braman

A Squared Films

Dobs Vye

Adage Music

Matt Richards, Ian Cundall & Andy Joynson

Air TV

Ian Lamarra

Alaska TV

Kate Sinclair

Alchemy Entertainment

Tom Hollander / Hannah Pescod

Bandstand Productions

Paul Yule

Berwick Universal Pictures

Victor Schonfeld FRSA

Beyond the Frame

Dhanny Joshi

Big Deal Films

Ed Coulthard

Blast! Films

Charles Brand

Brandish Productions

Mandy Leith

Brian Leith Productions

Simon Platz

Bucks Music Group

Pat Younge

Cardiff Productions

Sioned Morys


Danielle Lux

CPL Productions

Cat Lewis

Nine Lives Media

Elaine Hackett

Crackit Productions

Pippa Cross

CrossDay Productions

Dov Freedman

Curious Films

Jonathan Schütz

Curly Lizard Films

Paul Stead

Daisybeck Studios

Dermot Lavery

DoubleBand Films

Richard Bond


Emma Cooper

Empress Films

Tim Hincks


Mark Williams

Fin London Limited

Jes Wilkins

Firecracker Films

Nicole Kleeman

Firecrest Films

Nick Underhill & Colleen Flynn

Flicker Productions

Jane Berthoud

Funnybones Productions

Faraz Osman

Gold Wala

Ray Tostevin

Grace Productions

Jimmy Mulville

Hat Trick Television / Hat Trick Mercurio

Jayne Chard

Hummingbird Films

Dan Baldwin

Hungry Bear Media

Kate Cook & Bruce Goodison

Indefinite Films

Victoria Powell


Cat Lynch

Initial TV

Matt McGough

Ithica Films

Mark Downie

IWC Media

Nick Emmerson


Ollie Tait

Lambent Productions

Andy Harries

Left Bank Pictures

Richard McKerrow

Love Productions

Luti Fagbenle

Luti Media

Tally Garner

Mam Tor Productions

Nick Curwin


Krishnendu Majumdar

Me+You Productions

Clelia Mountford & Sharon Horgan


David Sumnall

Middlechild Productions

Dr Jon Wardle

National Film and Television School

Neil Duncanson

North One Television

Laura Mansfield

Outline Productions

Nisha Parti

Parti Productions

Nick Southgate

Passion Pictures

Steve Smith

Picture Zero Productions

Mat Steiner

Primal Media

Alexander Gardiner

Rare TV

Joely Fether

Raw TV

Jim Allen

RDF Television

Alan Hayling

Renegade Pictures

Joanna Ball


Robert Marsh

Robert & Friends

Rochelle Stevens

Rochelle Stevens & co

Ash Atalla

Roughcut Television

Iain Wimbush & Emily Hudd

Rumpus Media

Teresa Potocka

Sensethefuture Pictures

Simon Williamson

Simon Williamson Agency

Mel Leach

South Shore

Joff Powell, Steve Havers & Mark Baker

Spark Media

Andrew Newman

Spelthorne Community Television

Steve Wynne

Strawberry Blond

Brandon Relph

Studio BE

Stephen Lambert

Studio Lambert

Neil Crombie

Swan Films

Michael Hutchinson-Uzielli

Tangent Films

Lucy Vernall

The Academic Ideas Lab

Charlie Read & Niall Murdoch

The Outfit

Simone Pennant MBE

The TV Collective

Chris Brogden


David Parfitt

Trademark Films

Jess Fowle

True North

Karen Smith

Tuesday’s Child

Alan Clements

Two Rivers Media

David Olusoga & Mike Smith


Sanjay Singhal

Voltage TV

Jannine Waddell

Waddell Media

Leanne Klein

Wall to Wall / Twenty Twenty

Tom Miller

Water & Power Productions

Hugh Whitworth

Whitworth Media

Archie Baron

Wingspan Productions

Kate Beal

Woodcut Media

Siân Price

Yeti Television