Hackenbacker and De Lane Lea were the big winners at the 2008 Conch Sound Awards, picking up the best TV and best film facility gongs respectively.

Both companies also picked up a second award on the night with Hackenbacker victorious in the TV drama category for Ashes to Ashes and De Lane Lea coming out on top in the best film soundtrack (over£10m) group.

The individual winners included Breathe's Pip Norton, who picked up best TV dubbing mixer, and James Boyle of MJM Sound who got best film sound editor.

The full list of winners:

  • Best Audio on a TV Entertainment Programme - sponsored by Sadie, part of Prism Sound family
    Winner: Top Gear- Evolutions

  • Commercial of the Year - sponsored by Film London
    Winner: VW Golf “Enjoy the Everyday”- The Jungle Group/Paul Hartnoll

  • Best Music Production - sponsored by TC Electronic
    Winner: Sweeney Todd- Mike Higham at AIR Studios & Out of Eden Studios

  • Audio Media Unsung Hero Award - sponsored by Skillset
    Winner: Smudger - formerly Videosonics

  • Best Film Soundtrack (under£10 million budget) - sponsored by AMPS
    Winner: Happy Go Lucky- Goldcrest

  • Best TV Dubbing Mixer - sponsored by Media Lease
    Winner: Pip Norton- Breathe Post Production

  • Best Audio on a TV / Film Documentary - sponsored by Wise Buddah
    Winner: Michael Palin's New Europe- Molinare

  • Best UK Film Re-Recording Mixer - sponsored by Euphonix
    Winner: Mark Taylor- MJM Sound

  • UK's Most Promising Newcomer - sponsored by The Pinewood Studios Group
    Winner: Glen Gathard- Shepperton Studios, part of The Pinewood Studios Group

  • Best Audio on a TV Drama - sponsored by White Mark
    Winner: Ashes To Ashes- Hackenbacker

  • Best UK Film Sound Editor / Designer - sponsored by Digidesign
    Winner: James Boyle- MJM Sound

  • Production Sound Mixer of the year - sponsored by Munro Acoustics
    Winner: Simon Hayes

  • Best UK TV Sound Editor / Designer - sponsored by Solid State Logic
    Winner: Chris Roberts- Ascent 142

  • Best Film Soundtrack Of The Year - Over£10 Million - sponsored by UK Film Council
    Winner: Sweeney Todd- De Lane Lea

  • Best UK Commercial Sound Facility - sponsored by Hub Plus
    Winner: Grand Central Studios

  • Best UK TV Sound Facility - sponsored by Scrub
    Winner: Hackenbacker

  • Best UK Film Sound Facility - sponsored by Fineline
    Winner: De Lane Lea

  • The UK Screen Fellowship Award - sponsored by Dolby
    Presented to: John Iles

The Conch Awards 2008 took place at The Mayfair hotel on Thursday 25 September 2008.