Director of photography and lighting director Martin Hawkins scooped the main award at The Guild of Television Cameramen’s 42nd annual awards.

Hawkins (pictured), whose recent credits include Ballot Monkeys, Derek and Outnumbered, was given the GTC’s TiCA (Television Cameraman Award) at the ceremony which took place on Sunday in Oxfordshire.

He has received four Certificate of Merits from the GTC plus a Bafta nomination for Challenge Anneka.

In 2011 he was given a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Royal Television Society.

The Mike Baldock Award was won by the Rory Peck Trust, while honorary membership of the GTC was presented to David Monkhouse, who recently retired from the Vitec Group after more than 30 years with subsidiary firm Vinten.

GTC Awards for Excellence

Strictly Come Dancing
Camera team

Danny MacCaskill’s The Ridge
Drone Cameraman/Director: Stu Thomson
Drone Cameraman: Lec Park
Cameraman: Scott Marshall

Eurovision 2014 – the Netherlands song
Steadicam: Karsten Jacobsen
Follow Focus: Martin Samsoe

The Condemned
Camera/director: Nick Read

DoP: Richard Stoddard

The Queen’s Garden
Camera Team: Robin Cox, Robert Hollingworth, Tim Shepherd, Simon de Glanville

Hive Alive
DoP: Robin Smith

Our Girl
DoP: Nick Dance

John Bishop’s Australia
Drone work: Guy Littermore

The Wonders of the Monsoon, episode 5: The Drought
Camera: Nick Lyon and camera team