Netflix has confirmed that it is to offer HDR (high dynamic range) programmes from later this year.

The SVOD service made the announcement at CES in Las Vegas this week, where manufacturers including LG, Samsung, Panasonic and Sony announced that their flagship displays would be capable of showing HDR content.

The second series of Marco Polo will be the first HDR content to be available on Netflix.

Meanwhile, Sony said it would brand its HDR-capable Bravia TVs with a new “4K HDR” logo, while Panasonic unveiled its Ultra HD Premium-certified (see box below) DX900 4K LED LCD TV which it said would support both Amazon and Netflix’s HDR services.

LG’s new OLED and UHD TVs support HDR formats HDR10 and Dolby Vision and have been certified by the UHD Alliance.

Samsung said its 2016 range of UHD displays would all be HDR capable.

UHD logo

The UHD Alliance, which includes LG, Dolby, Netflix, Panasonic, Sony, Samsung and Technicolor, unveiled a new logo to identify UHD HDR devices, content and services at CES.

The ‘Ultra HD Premium’ logo is “reserved for products and services that comply with performance metrics for resolution, high dynamic range (HDR), peak luminance, black levels and wide color gamut among others”.

The specifications include:

  • Image Resolution of 3840 x 2160
  • 10-bit signal
  • BT 2020 colour space
  • SMPTE ST2084 EOTF (electro-optical transfer function)
  • Either more than 1000 nits peak brightness and less than 0.05 nits black level, or more than 540 nits peak brightness and less than 0.0005 nits black level

The UHD Alliance was unveiled at last year’s CES.